As students from throughout our diocese make their way to college campuses near and far, the Independent Catholic Foundation announces three recipients of the 2018 Adelaide G. (Heverly) Welge Scholarship. Sierra Stevens from Mount Carmel Parish, Altoona, attends Waynesburg University. Lucas Eberhart from St. Thomas More Parish, Roaring Spring, attends the University of Pittsburgh. Emily Ritchey also from St. Thomas More Parish, Roaring Spring, attends Seton Hill University.

Mr. and Mrs. Donald L. Mack established the scholarship in 1995 to honor Adelaide G. (Heverly) Welge, Mrs. Mack’s aunt.  Mrs. Welge, an Altoona native attended and graduated from the University of Pittsburgh with a bachelor’s and master’s degrees.  She and her late husband Harold B. Welge were strong supporters of higher education. The $500 Welge Scholarship assists college juniors or seniors from Blair County Parishes.

The Independent Catholic Foundation was established 28 years ago as a self-governing, non-profit organization to manage permanent endowments for the benefit of parishes, schools, diocesan ministries and other Catholic causes within and beyond the Diocese of Altoona-Johnstown. The Foundation has grown as a result of ordinary Catholics making extraordinary planned gifts.  Our portfolio investment policy is based on socially-responsible Catholic values influenced by fiscal guidelines issued by the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops. To learn how you can either contribute to an existing parish, school, scholarship or ministry endowment, or create your own named endowment or donor advised fund, please contact the Foundation at (814) 201-2080 or visit us online at